eCOGRA Certificate as a Reliability Index for Online Casinos: How to Get It

eCOGRA Certificate as a Reliability Index for Online Casinos: How to Get It

An online casino that conducts fair and transparent activities attracts more customers, as a result, outperforms its competitors, and increases revenue. The eCOGRA logo on the website signalizes that the gambling platform complies with the industry standards. What is eCOGRA, what advantages does this certificate give, and how to get it – read further in the article.

eCOGRA: what kind of organization is it and what does it do?


The eCOGRA (eCommerce Online Gaming Regulation and Assurance) is an international independent organization founded in the UK in 2003. It aims to develop unified standards in the online gambling industry and protect players against fraud.

The organization fulfills the following tasks:

  • protects player rights and provides them with necessary support;

  • develops standards for the iGaming industry;

  • fights against fraud in the gambling field;

  • prevents the participation of underage individuals in gambling;

  • monitors that games are conducted according to the rules;

  • takes care that user personal data remains private;

  • controls withdrawal payments;

  • helps to solve disputes between websites and customers acting as an intermediary;

  • informs users about the reliability of online platforms by placing a special logo on the gambling platforms that hold the certificate.

The eCOGRA has set a number of requirements to gambling platforms specified in the document called eGAP (eCOGRA Generally Accepted Practice).

For example, the organization checks that participants of the iGaming market do not violate the declared game conditions and that users receive payouts and bonuses in due time. Besides, much effort is devoted to the fight against fraud: the eCOGRA takes care that casinos do not deceive customers by introducing changes in software operations. Besides, the regulator makes sure that the random number generator operates correctly and handles cards or defines winning numbers randomly indeed.

According to data from eCOGRA, the organization has already run over 1,000 checks all over the world.

Who checks online casinos and what certificates they get?

Who checks online casinos and what certificates they get

The eCOGRA has two divisions: ATA and SRS.

The ATA (Approved Testing Agency) checks websites, tests software, and issues compliance certificates.

The competence of the SRS (Self-Regulation Services) includes the establishment of the safe environment for gamblers, protection of user interests and payment transactions, fighting against fraud, assurance of fair play, control over the activities of affiliates, providing customer support, etc.

The websites that have successfully undergone the audit and proven their credibility are given a corresponding certificate:

  • Safe and Fair Seal – for operators;

  • Certified Software Seal – for software developers and gambling platform providers;

  • Live Dealer Seal – for live dealer casinos;

  • Affiliate Trust Seal – for organizers of affiliate programs.

Besides, the organization publishes reports that show test results of random number generators and payout ratios in different games.

Companies that have successfully undergone evaluation can place the eCOGRA logo on their website demonstrating their reliability.

Advantages of websites approved by eCOGRA

Advantages of websites approved by eCOGRA

The eCOGRA is an authoritative organization. Gambling platforms understand that and try to survive the test and receive approval in order to improve their reputation in the opinion of competitors and users.

Today the eCOGRA has accreditations for auditing in different jurisdictions including Bulgaria, Estonia, the Czech Republic, the UK, Gibraltar, Italy, Latvia, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, Isle of Man, etc. Customers of the organization are software suppliers and iGaming operators from different countries, for example, Novomatic, NetEnt, 888 Holdings, Bede Gaming, EveryMatrix, Core Gaming, Supersport, Microgaming Software Systems, and many others.

The eCOGRA certificate gives participants of the iGaming market the following advantages:

  • shows that the platform is trustworthy and supports principles of fair play;

  • guarantees transparent operations. Casinos that hold the certificate provide the regulator with payment data and margin percentage;

  • allows solving disputable issues that arise between platforms and players. The user that suffers from fraudulent actions can complain about the website and authorized personnel will review the complaint. Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) service deals with complaints;

  • helps to avoid frequent checks made by other audit agencies.

How to become a holder of the eCOGRA certificate?

How to become a holder of the eCOGRA certificate

If the website contains the eCOGRA logo, it means that it has undergone necessary checks and proven its compliance with established standards. This improves the reputation of the platform and makes it more attractive in the eyes of users. Therefore, each gambling platform should receive this certificate in order to remain competitive and develop the business successfully.

To undergo the audit and acquire the eCOGRA certificate, one has to:

  • collect the required set of documents. Applicants submit passport data of the director, the company statute, data about software providers and loyalty programs. The gambling business has to be officially registered;

  • file an application. The business owner, co-owner, or the individual that manages the business can take this step. Both new and old gambling websites can obtain the eCOGRA certificate.

The regulator will conduct the audit. If the company proves its integrity and reliability, it will get the eCOGRA certificate, audit reports, RNG certificate, and the document about payout ratio.

You can learn more about subtleties of running an online business at Kyiv iGaming Affiliate Conference. Read the event program >>>

Please rate this news:
( 88 votes, average: 3.8 out of 5. )
Subscribe to get updates about new speakers and key news of the conference.